Tuesday, May 13, 2014

Witch Hunt by S. M. Reine









Witch Hunt: An Urban Fantasy Mystery (Preternatural Affairs)

Witch Hunt: An Urban Fantasy Mystery (Preternatural Affairs)
Price: $2.99


4.0 out of 5 stars I Liked It a Lot - But With Some Reservations, May 13, 2014


Book Description

 February 4, 2014
New York Times Bestselling Author SM Reine presents a new series for fans of The Dresden Files and The Iron Druid Chronicles...
A brutal murder.
There are scratches on Cèsar Hawke's arms, a discharged Glock on his coffee table, and a dead woman in his bathtub. Yeah, maybe he brought the waitress home for some fun -- he was too drunk to remember it -- but he knows for a fact that he didn't kill her. He's an agent with the Office of Preternatural Affairs. He doesn't hurt people. He saves them.
The cops disagree. Now Cèsar is running.

The search for a shaman.
Isobel Stonecrow speaks with the dead...for the right price. She brings closure to the bereaved and heals broken hearts. But when she resurrects someone for the wrong client, she ends up on the OPA's most wanted list.

One risky solution.
Tracking down Isobel is the last case assigned to Cèsar before he bolts. If he finds her, he can prove that he didn't kill that waitress. He can clear his name, get his job back, and bring justice to the victim.

She's just one witch. Cèsar has bagged a dozen witches before.

How hard can one more be?


I rarely buy self-published authors, but there was something about the blurb and the cover that had me clicking the 'buy now' button when I came across this book. I'm very glad I did buy it and I will be buying the second book also.

That is not to say that this book didn't have some problems...it did, but they were not problematic enough to keep me from enjoying this read.

It was a fast read and the red herring thrown in kept me from guessing what was really going on.  I have to say that the 'bad guy' the author was pushing us toward is the one I had thought did it right from the start.

One problem I had that I couldn't get out of my mind, is that when the author is confronted with her characters getting into a situation that the author can't find her way out of -she just  seems to give a shrug.  She may then go on to have her character says something like this quoted part " Somehow, we escaped .  Don't even f***ing ask how, because I don't know."  Something along this line was done several times during this novel.

The pacing was pretty good, the character development could have went a little deeper, as could have been done to the world building.

Yet, I still stayed up half the night to finish this book.  I really liked Cesar Hawke and his brother.  I loved the sarcastic , dry sense of humor  (fatalistic even) that Cesar  displays, and I hope to see in following book that he will get the girl, hopefully it will be the right one!

No comments: