Friday, June 20, 2014

Ice Shear: A Novel

Ice Shear: A Novel
Ice Shear: A Novel
by M.P. Cooley
Edition: Hardcover
Price: $19.25

4.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 Stars Nothing is Really Perfect, But This Book is Close!June 20, 2014

This review is from: Ice Shear: A Novel (Hardcover)



Book Description

 July 22, 2014
A small town cop’s murder investigation turns deadly when she uncovers a web of politics and drugs linked to an outlaw motorcycle gang in this gripping debut suspense novel for fans of Winter’s Bone, Frozen River, Breaking Bad, and Sons of Anarchy.
As a cop on the night shift in Hopewell Falls, New York, June Lyons drives drunks home and picks up the donuts. A former FBI agent, she ditched the Bureau when her husband died, and now she and her young daughter are back in upstate New York, living with her father, the town’s retired chief of police.
When June discovers a young woman’s body impaled on an ice shear in the frozen Mohawk River, news of the murder spreads fast; the dead girl was the daughter of a powerful local Congresswoman, and her troubled youth kept the gossips busy.
Though June was born and raised in Hopewell Falls, the local police see her as an interloper—resentment that explodes in anger when the FBI arrive and deputize her to work on the murder investigation. But June may not find allies among the Feds. The agent heading the case is someone from her past—someone she isn’t sure she can trust.
As June digs deeper, an already fraught case turns red-hot when it leads to a notorious biker gang and a meth lab hidden in plain sight—and an unmistakable sign that the river murder won’t be the last.

I have to say that this book totally surprised me. I never thought I would like it as much as I did.

I love mysteries and although this was a rather complex plot, eventually hard-core mystery lovers will most likely figure out who-dun-it before the end. This is not a bad thing since you still need to know why they done it!

June (Juniper) Lyons is an ex-FBI agent who quit the Feds and came back home with her husband and daughter to Hopewell Falls New York while her husband succumbs to cancer. She is now working as a regular cop in this rather impoverished corner of New York. Nothing much ever happens, until one early morning a body is found.

This was never going to be a simple case considering that the dead girl is a Congresswoman's daughter who is married to the towns' very bad boy. Eventually we start getting a very clear picture of just how bad so many of the people involved with this young woman are. And we soon find out what lengths people will go to cover up just how bad things are going to get.

As far as this being a debut, you would never know it from this book. This is a gripping story that was well thought out and plotted. The characters are very `real' and while you may not like very many of them (I did not).

Some areas of this book could have used a little more explanation, some of the characters didn't ring quite true and some things just did not add up for me but never enough to pull me out of the fascination I had with the whole story.

I am hoping that this is the start to a series and that some of the issues that I had, will be explained and the characters I had problems with will be more fleshed out.

This is a great debut and the perfect read when the thermometer climbs over 90% this summer!

3 comments:

ninest123 said...

pandora jewelry, toms shoes, canada goose, canada goose outlet, swarovski crystal, ugg,ugg australia,ugg italia, doudoune canada goose, canada goose, juicy couture outlet, hollister, louis vuitton, louis vuitton, replica watches, links of london, karen millen, louis vuitton, moncler outlet, moncler, wedding dresses, ugg,uggs,uggs canada, louis vuitton, canada goose, canada goose outlet, sac louis vuitton pas cher, canada goose uk, coach outlet, thomas sabo, moncler, supra shoes, ugg pas cher, moncler, pandora charms, moncler, bottes ugg, pandora charms, canada goose, juicy couture outlet, moncler, marc jacobs, pandora jewelry, swarovski, ugg boots uk, montre pas cher, moncler, moncler

ninest123 said...

hollister, oakley, lancel, hollister, instyler, vans, converse, nike huarache, ferragamo shoes, mcm handbags, soccer shoes, north face outlet, herve leger, bottega veneta, north face outlet, jimmy choo shoes, ghd, converse outlet, nike air max, lululemon, mac cosmetics, hollister, baseball bats, vans shoes, chi flat iron, nike trainers, reebok shoes, celine handbags, soccer jerseys, longchamp, ralph lauren, valentino shoes, insanity workout, ray ban, iphone cases, nike air max, abercrombie and fitch, gucci, babyliss, new balance, nike roshe, louboutin, beats by dre, mont blanc, birkin bag, p90x workout, asics running shoes, wedding dresses, nfl jerseys, timberland boots

ninest123 said...

vuggs on sale, louis vuitton, longchamp, louboutin outlet, tiffany and co, burberry, cheap oakley sunglasses, polo ralph lauren outlet, gucci outlet, air max, nike air max, ugg boots, oakley sunglasses, polo ralph lauren outlet, louis vuitton outlet, jordan shoes, ray ban sunglasses, replica watches, kate spade outlet, ray ban sunglasses, ray ban sunglasses, louboutin pas cher, nike free, nike outlet, longchamp outlet, oakley sunglasses, louis vuitton, ugg boots, tiffany jewelry, air jordan pas cher, louis vuitton, longchamp outlet, louboutin, christian louboutin outlet, nike roshe run, prada handbags, louboutin shoes, nike air max, oakley sunglasses, michael kors, nike free, chanel handbags, replica watches, louis vuitton outlet, tory burch outlet, oakley sunglasses, longchamp pas cher, ralph lauren pas cher, sac longchamp, prada outlet