Tuesday, July 7, 2015

The Summer of Good Intentions: A Novel by Wendy Francis

The Summer of Good Intentions: A Novel
The Summer of Good Intentions: A Novel
by Wendy Francis
Edition: Paperback
Price: $7.86

3.0 out of 5 stars Possible Mild SpoilersJuly 7, 2015
Book Description:
"Cape Cod summers are supposed to remain reassuringly the same, but everything falls apart when three sisters and their families come together for their annual summer vacation—and they are carrying more secrets than suitcases.
Maggie is the oldest. She feels responsible for managing the summer house and making sure everything is as it always has been. But she’s hurt that her parents’ recent divorce has destroyed the family’s comfortable summer routines, and her own kids seem to be growing up at high speed. Is it too late to have another baby?
Jess is the middle sister. She loves her job but isn’t as passionate about her marriage. She’s not sure she can find the courage to tell Maggie what she’s done—much less talk to her husband about it.
Virgie is the youngest, her dad’s favorite. She’s always been the career girl, but now there’s a man in her life. Her television job on the west coast is beyond stressful, and it’s taking its toll on her—emotionally and physically. She’s counting on this vacation to erase the symptoms she’s not talking about.
The Herington girls are together again, with their husbands and kids, for another summer in the family’s old Cape Cod house. When their mother, Gloria, announces she’s coming for an unscheduled visit—with her new boyfriend—no one is more surprised than their father, Arthur, who has not quite gotten over his divorce. Still, everyone manages to navigate the challenges of living grown-up lives in close quarters, until an accident reveals a new secret that brings everyone together in heartbreak…and then healing.
Poignant, compelling, and so real that you could shake the sand out of the pages,The Summer of Good Intentions is by a rising star who aims her fiction square at the heart of readers who love Elin Hilderbrand, Dorothea Benton Frank, and Mary Kay Andrews."



I can't rant about this book nor can I rave about it. All I can say is that it was more depressing than I would have liked to have read over the Fourth of July weekend.

Three grown up sisters, a set of divorced parents (mother with her "boy" toy!) and a beach house...naturally each family is having some sort of crisis/issues and hopefully a month/two weeks/week at the family beach house should put things into perspective. Discussions with your sisters over copious glasses of wine or fruity drinks should help you figure out what you want to do -no this doesn't happen though. this book is filled with nothing you have come to expect for a summer beach read.

I could not connect with any of the characters. They were too cliched for my tastes. I felt that too many tragedies befell this family over the space of a couple of weeks. I was depressed reading this. Frankly, to be honest I could not finish this book - how could things get better when one of the main characters is diagnosed with a fatal disease?

*ARC supplied by publisher.

4 comments:

ninest123 said...

pandora jewelry, toms shoes, canada goose, canada goose outlet, swarovski crystal, ugg,ugg australia,ugg italia, doudoune canada goose, canada goose, juicy couture outlet, hollister, louis vuitton, louis vuitton, replica watches, links of london, karen millen, louis vuitton, moncler outlet, moncler, wedding dresses, ugg,uggs,uggs canada, louis vuitton, canada goose, canada goose outlet, sac louis vuitton pas cher, canada goose uk, coach outlet, thomas sabo, moncler, supra shoes, ugg pas cher, moncler, pandora charms, moncler, bottes ugg, pandora charms, canada goose, juicy couture outlet, moncler, marc jacobs, pandora jewelry, swarovski, ugg boots uk, montre pas cher, moncler, moncler

ninest123 said...

hollister, oakley, lancel, hollister, instyler, vans, converse, nike huarache, ferragamo shoes, mcm handbags, soccer shoes, north face outlet, herve leger, bottega veneta, north face outlet, jimmy choo shoes, ghd, converse outlet, nike air max, lululemon, mac cosmetics, hollister, baseball bats, vans shoes, chi flat iron, nike trainers, reebok shoes, celine handbags, soccer jerseys, longchamp, ralph lauren, valentino shoes, insanity workout, ray ban, iphone cases, nike air max, abercrombie and fitch, gucci, babyliss, new balance, nike roshe, louboutin, beats by dre, mont blanc, birkin bag, p90x workout, asics running shoes, wedding dresses, nfl jerseys, timberland boots

ninest123 said...

tn pas cher, lacoste pas cher, vanessa bruno, abercrombie and fitch, ugg boots, nike free run uk, coach purses, hermes, kate spade handbags, north face, michael kors, mulberry, vans pas cher, michael kors, ray ban pas cher, true religion outlet, true religion jeans, burberry, lululemon, ralph lauren uk, ugg boots, true religion jeans, michael kors outlet, hogan, coach outlet, michael kors outlet, air force, timberland, north face, nike blazer, true religion jeans, coach outlet, ray ban uk, burberry outlet online, michael kors outlet, michael kors, new balance pas cher, michael kors outlet, oakley pas cher, nike air max, nike air max, converse pas cher, nike air max, sac guess, hollister, hollister pas cher, replica handbags, michael kors outlet, michael kors, nike roshe

ninest123 said...

uggs on sale, louis vuitton, longchamp, louboutin outlet, tiffany and co, burberry, cheap oakley sunglasses, polo ralph lauren outlet, gucci outlet, air max, nike air max, ugg boots, oakley sunglasses, polo ralph lauren outlet, louis vuitton outlet, jordan shoes, ray ban sunglasses, replica watches, kate spade outlet, ray ban sunglasses, ray ban sunglasses, louboutin pas cher, nike free, nike outlet, longchamp outlet, oakley sunglasses, louis vuitton, ugg boots, tiffany jewelry, air jordan pas cher, louis vuitton, longchamp outlet, louboutin, christian louboutin outlet, nike roshe run, prada handbags, louboutin shoes, nike air max, oakley sunglasses, michael kors, nike free, chanel handbags, replica watches, louis vuitton outlet, tory burch outlet, oakley sunglasses, longchamp pas cher, ralph lauren pas cher, sac longchamp, prada outlet