Wednesday, January 6, 2016

Death Before Decaf

Product Details


Perfect for fans of Janet Evanovich and Diane Mott Davidson, Caroline Fardig’s captivating new mystery novel takes readers behind the counter of a seemingly run-of-the-mill coffeehouse . . . where murder is brewing. After her music career crashes and burns spectacularly, Juliet Langley is forced to turn to the only other business she knows: food service. Unfortunately, bad luck strikes yet again when her two-timing fiancé robs her blind and runs off with her best waitress. Flushing what’s left of her beloved café down the toilet with her failed engagement, Juliet packs up and moves back to her college stomping grounds in Nashville to manage an old friend’s coffeehouse. At first glance, it seems as though nothing’s changed at Java Jive. What could possibly go wrong? Only that the place is hemorrhaging money, the staff is in open revolt, and Juliet finds one unlucky employee dead in the dumpster out back before her first day is even over. The corpse just so happens to belong to the cook who’d locked horns with Juliet over the finer points of the health code. Unimpressed with her management style, the other disgruntled employees are only too eager to spill the beans about her fiery temper to the detective on the case. Add to the mix a hunky stranger who’s asking way too many questions, and suddenly Juliet finds herself in some very hot water. If she can’t simmer down and sleuth her way to the real killer, she’s going to get burned.



Whoever thought to compare this author to Janet Evanovich or Diane Mott Davidson has surely never read a book by either one of these authors. I do have to admit though, that the similarities to Evanovich's books are eerily similar: a choice of two men, a crazy elderly woman, sarcasm... Need I say more?

I've made it (and with great difficulty) to the 50% mark. Though some readers think that this book gets better later on, I won't try to get any further. A book and its characters should attract you from the start or at least pique your curiosity and pull you in. This story line and the main characters did none of that for me.

I found the main character of Juliet Langley to be a whiny,immature, overly impulsive and fairly ignorant character. One with a loud and foul mouth who is trying too hard to act like she is 20 instead of a mature 30. She grated on my nerves from the very first full chapter.

In what I did manage to read, I found absolutely nothing humorous and nothing that compelled me to finish this book and to see who the murderer is.

ARC supplied by publisher.

4 comments:

ninest123 said...

louis vuitton, uggs on sale, replica watches, tory burch outlet, louboutin pas cher, louboutin shoes, oakley sunglasses, replica watches, tiffany jewelry, louis vuitton, polo ralph lauren outlet, louis vuitton, ralph lauren pas cher, burberry, oakley sunglasses, gucci outlet, nike free, prada handbags, ugg boots, air max, nike air max, oakley sunglasses, air jordan pas cher, kate spade outlet, polo ralph lauren outlet, chanel handbags, louboutin outlet, nike air max, louis vuitton outlet, nike outlet, christian louboutin outlet, longchamp pas cher, longchamp, oakley sunglasses, longchamp outlet, sac longchamp, ray ban sunglasses, nike roshe run, jordan shoes, longchamp outlet, cheap oakley sunglasses, tiffany and co, ugg boots, michael kors, nike free, louis vuitton outlet, prada outlet, ray ban sunglasses, ray ban sunglasses, louboutin

ninest123 said...

true religion jeans, michael kors, coach outlet, michael kors outlet, new balance pas cher, ray ban uk, michael kors outlet, burberry, coach purses, coach outlet, north face, sac guess, michael kors outlet, vans pas cher, michael kors, nike free run uk, nike air max, mulberry, timberland, lululemon, true religion jeans, ralph lauren uk, hollister, ugg boots, hermes, kate spade handbags, ugg boots, nike blazer, north face, tn pas cher, ray ban pas cher, converse pas cher, true religion outlet, hollister pas cher, replica handbags, true religion jeans, abercrombie and fitch, hogan, oakley pas cher, burberry outlet online, air force, michael kors outlet, michael kors outlet, nike roshe, nike air max, michael kors, michael kors, lacoste pas cher, vanessa bruno, nike air max

ninest123 said...

converse outlet, instyler, hollister, insanity workout, asics running shoes, herve leger, hollister, abercrombie and fitch, reebok shoes, ralph lauren, new balance, babyliss, longchamp, nike air max, vans shoes, p90x workout, vans, bottega veneta, ghd, jimmy choo shoes, chi flat iron, nike roshe, mont blanc, lululemon, mac cosmetics, celine handbags, soccer jerseys, nike huarache, hollister, birkin bag, louboutin, beats by dre, mcm handbags, wedding dresses, ferragamo shoes, nfl jerseys, timberland boots, lancel, gucci, soccer shoes, north face outlet, north face outlet, ray ban, nike air max, nike trainers, baseball bats, iphone cases, valentino shoes, oakley, converse

ninest123 said...

moncler outlet, moncler, replica watches, moncler, swarovski, pandora charms, louis vuitton, juicy couture outlet, canada goose, moncler, canada goose, canada goose uk, moncler, ugg,uggs,uggs canada, canada goose outlet, canada goose, hollister, wedding dresses, ugg,ugg australia,ugg italia, pandora jewelry, canada goose outlet, toms shoes, ugg boots uk, doudoune canada goose, juicy couture outlet, moncler, louis vuitton, canada goose, coach outlet, ugg pas cher, pandora jewelry, moncler, supra shoes, thomas sabo, montre pas cher, pandora charms, swarovski crystal, bottes ugg, moncler, karen millen, links of london, louis vuitton, sac louis vuitton pas cher, louis vuitton, marc jacobs